Joint letter

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Luxembourg, and Norway

To: Mr Frans Timmermans, Executive Vice-President of the European Commission;

Ms Margrethe Vestager, Executive Vice-President of the European Commission;

Mr Valdis Dombrovskis, Executive Vice-President of the European Commission;

Mr Virginijus Sinkevičius, Commissioner for the Environment, Oceans and Fisheries;

Mr Thierry Breton, Commissioner for Internal Market

Revision of REACH

As Ministers of Environment from Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Luxembourg, and Norway we want to stress the importance of a timely implementation of the ambitious Chemicals Strategy for Sustainability, including the importance of revising REACH in order to protect health and environment in the EU.

The timely revision of REACH is a cornerstone in greening the chemicals legislation following the Green Deal by achieving EUs ambition to increase sustainability and competitiveness across sectors. At the same time, the revision is paramount as to increase the level of protection of human health and the environment and facilitate the transition to safer alternatives as described in the Chemicals Strategy for Sustainability. A sound management of sustainable chemicals is essential to strengthen the interplay between the green and digital transition.

It is not time to move backwards. It is time to stand up for the green transition and move forward by investing in long-term sustainable actions. To this end, the REACH revision plays a crucial role. We need to ensure the EU lives up to the promises made in the Green Deal, the Zero Pollution Ambition, the Circular Economy Action Plan, the Chemicals Strategy for Sustainability and other initiatives to maintain global leadership in the sound management of chemicals.

We strongly encourage the Commission to proceed with the planned revision of REACH and not leave it to the next Commission to deliver on your promises.

Sincerely,

Leonore Gewessler

Minister for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology

Austria

Zakia Khattabi

Minister for Climate, Environment, Sustainable Development and the Green Deal,

Belgium

Lea Wermelin

Minister for Environment

Denmark

Maria Ohisalo

Minister of the Environment and Climate Change

Finland

Christophe Béchu

Minister of Ecological Transition and Territorial Cohesion

France

Steffi Lemke

Federal Minister for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Nuclear Safety and Consumer Protection

Germany

Joëlle Welfring

Minister for the Environment, Climate and Sustainable Development

Luxembourg

Espen Barth Eide

Minister of Climate and Environment

Norway